//
you're reading...
Travel Blog

The Only Thing That Is Missing Is T-Pain

G’day you crazy kids!

Now to catch you all up! After a very short rest at the Nomads hostel in Hervey Bay I jumped on a flight to Proserpine (Whitsundays) and began to make my way to Airlie Beach! After a bite to eat and a little sight seeing I was off to bed because of the very early wake up call the next morning.

Airlie Beach

Night Before Sailing Adventure

Day 5: I’m on a Boat!!!

Today started off with a giant feeling of excitement and anticipation, I woke up in my private accommodation at Base Hostel in Airlie beach (Wicked hostel right next to the Down Under Bar) had a cup of coffee, and headed down to the docks to meet my skipper, fellow shipmates and of coarse…The Ship. Once aboard a beautiful vessel (The S.S Summertime) the crew began introducing themselves; Brad – our skipper, Chris – our amazing cook and Flo – Summertime’s dive master and local comedian. Not long after we pulled away from Airlie beach harbor and were off to experience the beautiful Whitsunday Islands.

Our Crew!

One of my biggest worries for this trip was if I would be sea sick or not, seeing as I have not spent more than 10 hours on a boat before I was a little apprehensive. The first hour went by without a problem, we actually were served a very tasty lunch on the way out. After lunch was a little bit of a different story…It may have been a combination of the choppy waves, the newly filled stomach or my weak sea legs, but I wasn’t feeling to hot. Now I didn’t feel as bad as some others on the boat, we actually had one guy lose his newly eaten delicious lunch but pretty bad nonetheless.

Fellow Crew In A Bowl

Anyways, the sea sickness went away once we docked up in the Tounge Bay (Just one of the 74 Whitsunday islands)and boarded a smaller boat to ferry us to the shore line. Once on land we had a short walk to Whitehaven Beach, my new favorite beach in the world. Why you may ask? Well Whitehaven beach is even more notorious than Lake McKenzie because the sand on Whitehaven is 88% silica compared to McKenzies 44%. What this means is the sand is the softest and whitest sand this blogger has ever felt and seen in his life! This is truly the most cosmopolitan beach in the world (I.M.O). After some fun beach games and creative photo taking we jumped back onto the Summertime and had some delicious snacks and breathtaking views as we sailed to drop anchor at Stonehaven for the night.

Whitehaven Beach

Whitehaven Beach

I have to make a point to describe how amazing the food was on this ship; so night 1 our dinner was:

Tender chicken thigh fillets marinated in succulent honey mustard and mixed herbs, Served with a fresh cherry tomato, fetta cheese, green olives stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and Spanish onion salad. Fresh green beans with tomato, onion, garlic and mushroom pasta bake. With warm herb and Parmesan bread. Top that all off with desert – Chocolate cake with a rich topping covered in creamy custard, ya I’m pretty lucky.

Top that off with a very cool jumping picture!

Cool Jumping Picture

Following dinner was a couple cold beers and some very intense games of president!

Sunset

The highlight of my night was lying on the deck, smelling the sent of the salty sea air, looking up, and seeing nothing but blackness and millions of stunning shining stars as the boat was softly rocked by the waves below. That night had to be one of the best sleeps I have ever had in my life.

That’s it for day one aboard the S.S Summertime, day two promises to be equally as satisfying as it brings with it the opportunity to visit an alien underwater world through scuba diving!

About mikewenzlawe

I am about to embark on an amazing adventure in Australia and I want to bring you all with me!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment