//
you're reading...
Travel Blog

And So The Adventure Begins!

Hello beautiful people!!!

If you don’t know or have accidently stumbled upon this blog, my name is Mike Wenzlawe. I am a lucky Canadian who has won a truly once in a lifetime contest that will have me touring through beautiful Australia for a little over three weeks! As this is my first time writing a Blog I wanted to make sure it is something people would actually like to read, so I asked myself, what would I like a blog to consist of? Well, what I would want is something that is short, sweet, full of pictures and makes me feel like I was there! So with that said, I cant wait to bring you all along with me on this amazing adventure!

It's Bloggin Time!

So, to start off this bloging thing I thought it would be cool to tell you guys what I packed for a trip that will run for a little over two months. It seems to me that trying to pack (especially for a place you have never been before) is a little challenging. I have found first hand that the solution to this problem is simple, don’t procrastinate and start packing 7 hours before your flight…like I did…Like an idiot…don’t do that. Even with my very short time frame I was able to fit everything that I think I’ll need for the trip in a 70-liter backpack. I also have a smaller bag to hold all of my expensive stuff (Camera, Computer, IPod, ext) that I wear on my front (Kangaroo Style!). Just to make it as detailed as possible so you to, can feel and grasp what has been hastily shoved into my bag I have included an epic list!

Mike’s EPIC Bag List of Stuff That’s EPIC…Kinda

-Couple T-shirts

-Couple man tanks

-Pair of jeans, Hiking pants, and shorts

-10 pairs of underwear 2 pairs of socks

-Hiking boots, kicks and sandals

-A couple Bandezzies

-Waterproof jacket and pants

-Sunscreen for my fair Canadian skin

-Waterproof bag cover (Garbage Bag)

Now that you know what I brought I guess its only fair that I give you a little sneak-peek on what I will be doing on this crazy adventure. I have decided that I would give a small sample of activities rather than saying it all at once, I have to keep you all interested ;).  Things you can look forward to reading about could be my visit to beautiful Basin Lake to swim along side some breathtakingly majestic sea turtles or spend 3 days and 2 nights as a deckhand, sailing around the Whitsunday islands. Not intrigued yet? Well what if I told you ill be taking you all along on a adrenalin pumping, gravity defying bungee jump in Cairns followed by Jungle Canopy Surfing and whitewater rafting! Still not on the edge of your seat? Well I guess you wouldn’t be interested in hearing about the multiple adventure safaris in Australia’s stunning and breathtaking Red Center! That’s right, I will be taking all you guys along with me the entire time! I will be updating my blog and vlogs (My YouTube Channel: The Traveling Canadian) as often as I can!

Good Bye Canada

If there is any thing that you would like to see in the blogs or vlogs leave a comment and I will do my best, I want to do whatever I can for you guys, since this life-changing trip could not have happened without you guys!

Much Love,

Mike

About mikewenzlawe

I am about to embark on an amazing adventure in Australia and I want to bring you all with me!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “And So The Adventure Begins!

  1. This is awesome Mike!! keep writing!! 🙂 sounds like you are having an amazing time!!!

    Posted by Brenda Wang | May 26, 2011, 12:34 am
  2. Mate great job on starting this blog! I hope you keep it up and have a great time. I am actually moving to Australia and am going to be blogging about it. You should check it out it’s http://www.livinginsydneyandnsw.com.

    I wanted to ask you though, what was the contest you won for or how did you win the trip rather!?

    Cheers mate,
    Kev

    Posted by Kevin McAuley | June 28, 2011, 7:03 pm
    • Hey Kevin,

      Thanks so much for the kind words and I will for sure check your stuff out! The 3 week trip was a nation wide contest in Canada to find the “Next Aussie Adventurer” to promote the work and play holiday visa in Australia. I won it by making an audition video along with other things (Videos, Pictures, Socials, ext). Mate you will love it down here and I hope you have a fantastic time!

      Where will you be living?

      MIke

      Posted by mikewenzlawe | June 30, 2011, 8:12 am

Leave a comment